The winners of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers 2016



LVMH is pleased to announce that London-based designer Grace Wales Bonner of WALES BONNER, is the recipient of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers for 2016.

Jury members J.W. Anderson (Loewe), Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo), Phoebe Philo (Céline), Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy), and Delphine Arnault (Executive Vice-President of Louis Vuitton), Jean-Paul Claverie (advisor to Bernard Arnault) and Pierre-Yves Roussel (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer LVMH Fashion Group) awarded Grace Wales Bonner of WALES BONNER with a grant of 300,000 euros and a year-long mentorship from the LVMH group. The experience will encompass invaluable technical and financial advice, as well as access to the group’s production and distribution expertise and networks.

© Benoit Peverelli

In recognition of the exceptional talent involved in this year’s competition, the jury awarded a special prize to Vejas Kruszewski of VEJAS. He receives a grant of 150,000 euros and year-long mentorship from the LVMH group.

© Benoit Peverelli

“Grace Wales Bonner of WALES BONNER impressed the jury with her soulful work on refined shapes, creating hybrid forms that marry European and African style. I congratulate her for this outstanding achievement. We have also awarded Vejas Kruszewski of VEJAS with a special prize. The youngest of this season distinguished himself with a mature style and independent spirit.
The third edition of the LVMH Prize saw young talents from over fifty countries come together to compete. I’m proud that the LVMH Group puts the spotlight on their work and guides them in their development” says Delphine Arnault.

Léa Seydoux honored LVMH by presenting the trophy, designed by Jean-Michel Othoniel, to the winners.

In addition to the main category, three fashion graduates have each been awarded the Graduate Prize of 10, 000 euros and a position within the LVMH group for a period of one year. The recipients for 2016 are: Francesca Ricchiardi from Accademia Costume & Moda in Rome, Ayo Keys from Parsons The New School of Design in New York, and Beth Hall from Westminster University, who will be placed at Fendi, Marc Jacobs and Loewe, respectively. Additionally, LVMH offers their universities a grant of 10,000 euros each in acknowledgement of their excellence.

Portuguese London-based designers Marques Almeida were the recipient of the LVMH Prize in 2015, with French Jacquemus awarded the special prize.